Islands Planning Commission

Mainland Planning Commission, Islands Planning Commission, and Board of Appeals

Return to the Services List


The Islands Planning Commission is composed of seven citizens who are residents of St. Simons Island/Sea Island, and who are appointed by the Board of Commissioners for four-year terms. The Islands Planning Commission makes decisions and recommendations on matters concerning the growth and development of the County, specifically as it applies to St. Simons Island, Sea Island, and Little St. Simons Island.

Coverage Area
For Planning and Zoning, other areas of Glynn County are served by the Mainland Planning Commission, the City of Brunswick, or the Jekyll Island Authority.

The Islands Planning Commission normally meets beginning at 6 PM on the Third Tuesday of each month in Room 108 of The Casino (also known as The Islands Players theatre, Brunswick Golden Isles Visitors Center, and St. Simons Island Library), adjacent in the Village on St. Simons Island. Meetings are carried on Cable TV channel 99, beginning on March 11, 2011 meetings will be carried on Cable TV channel 206. You can watch the Island Planning Commission meetings that are held at the Casino live streamed or view archived meetings by clicking here

In addition, the Islands Planning Commission and the Mainland Planning Commission normally meet twice a month on the second and fourth Tuesday mornings at 9 AM in Room 129 of the Ballard Recreation Center at 323 Old Jesup Road in Brunswick. These are workshop meetings to discuss ordinance amendments, comprehensive plan amendments and similar issues. These meetings are open to the public, however there is usually not a formal opportunity to take public input and no decisions are made. These workshop meetings are not televised.

Following are the current members of the Islands Planning Commission and the Commission District they serve:

  • Patrick Duncan                                                      District 1
  • Carla Wilder Cate                                                      District 2
  • Desiree Watson                                                       District 3
  • Joel Willis                                                        District 4
  • Odessa Rooks                                                                    District 5
  • Stan Humphries                                                          At Large 1
  • Ed Meadows                                                           At Large 2
Information about meetings, including the date, time, and location of meetings is posted on this web site in the calendar section some time before the date of the meeting. In addition, agendas, and copies of staff reports are posted about one week before the meeting date.

Click here to obtain minutes of Islands Planning Commission meetings.