- Probate Court
- Marriage License
- Requirements for Minor Marriage License
Requirements for Minor Marriage License
OverviewIf either of the applicants are a resident of the State of Georgia, the marriage license can be obtained from any Probate Court in any county in the State. It is not required that an application obtain their marriage license from the county in which they reside. If neither of the applicants are a resident of the State of Georgia, the license must be obtained in the county in which the ceremony is to be performed.
Blood Tests (Effective 7/2/2003)Premarital blood tests are no longer required under Georgia law.
Proof of Age (Effective 7/1/2019, per O.C.G.A.19-3-36)19-3-36 is amended TO REQUIRE ALL APPLICANTS TO PRESENT DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF PROOF OF AGE.
A 17-Year-Old may be issued a marriage license IF ALL THE FOLLOWING ARE MET:
A. A petition is granted in Juvenile Court for Emancipation and a Certified Copy of such order is presented. (See 15-11-720)
B. 15 Days have Passed since the date the order granting Emancipation was granted.
C. The Older Party to the marriage is no more than 4 years older than the younger party.
D. Applicants have completed Premarital Education according to 19-3-30.1 (There are Additional counseling requirements for those 17 Years Old).
Proof of Dissolution of Prior MarriageIf either applicant has been previously married and the marriage was dissolved by divorce or annulment, a copy of the decree of divorce or annulment must be presented at the time of application. Applicants who have been married and divorced more than once need only provide certified copy of the decree dissolving the last previous marriage.
• Marriage license issued to a minor with premarital certification (for Georgia Residents only) $36.00
The premarital certification must be presented to the court at the time of application in order to obtain the reduced fee. The certification must be issued in compliance with 19-3-30.1 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated in that it included at least 6 hours of instruction involving marital issues (which may include, but is not limited to, conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles). The couple must take the course together.
SurnameThe applicants must designate on the application the legal surname that will be used after the marriage. An applicant may choose:
• Given surname or surname as changed by order of the superior court
• Surname from a previous marriage
• Spouse's surname
• Combination of given or court-changed surname, surname from a previous marriage and/or the spouse's surname
• Certified copy of death certificate for former deceased spouse
• Certified, stamped copy of final divorce decree for most recent previous marriage.
• Applicant's Georgia Driver's license, state issued picture identification, or a passport.