About Glynn County Animal Control

Staff Contact List - Main: (912) 554-7500 / animalservices@glynncounty-ga.gov

     
Tiffani Hill, Division Manager (912) 554-7501 thill@glynncounty-ga.gov
Gerald Rewis, Senior Field Officer/ACO II (912) 554-7504 grewis@glynncounty-ga.gov
Ashley Gordon, Medical Team Lead (912) 554-7508 agordon@glynncounty-ga.gov
Kali Boatwright, Animal Care Lead (912) 554-7505 kboatwright@glynncounty-ga.gov
Michele Staten, Client Services Coordinator (912) 554-7509 mstaten@glynncounty-ga.gov
Open, Animal Control Officer (912) 554-7507  
Lexi Dybe, Animal Control Officer I (912) 554-7506 ldybe@glynncounty-ga.gov
Cindy Holland, Animal Control Officer II (912) 554-7530 cholland@glynncounty-ga.gov
Sharon Mathews, Animal Care Technician (912) 554-7505 smathews@glynncounty-ga.gov
Sandra Young, Animal Care & Medical Team (912) 554-7511 sgyoung@glynncounty-ga.gov

Gerald Rewis kennelsOur Vision and Mission

Our Vision for Our Community: We envision a community where people and animals live together with compassion, respect and dignity.

Our Department's Mission: Glynn County Animal Control protects people and animals through compassionate care, community education, proactive intervention, and effective enforcement.

What We Do for Our Community

The 5-point focus of an animal control program is: Public health; Public safety; Law enforcement; Protection of pets and people with education and intervention; and Agency interaction in communication and cooperative endeavors. The National Animal Care & Control Association sums it up perfectly: “Animal Control is a program that effectively treats the symptoms while seeking to eliminate the causes by compassionately using the tools of education and enforcement.”

Glynn County Animal Control is a department of 10 staff members. We are part of the Administration Division of Glynn County, Georgia. Guided by the Board of Commissioners, we serve our community by:

  • Enforce Glynn County Ordinance Chapter 2-4 - Domestic Animals, City of Brunswick, GA animal ordinances and the Georgia Animal Welfare Act.
  • Provide 24 hours a day/7 days a week response to requests for help from Glynn County residents.Glynn County Animal Control truck
  • Impound, return to owner and rehome stray, neglected, abused and abandoned dogs, cats, equine and farm animals from our community.
  • Provide bite quarantine facilities for dogs and cats involved in bite incidents. (For quarantine information, contact the GA Dept. of Public Health)
  • Care for dogs and cats in protective custody who are evidence in a court case.
  • Educate the public on responsible pet ownership.
  • Provide emergency sheltering, search and rescue and public safety during a community emergency or disaster.

Monthly Statistics

Animal Emergency Calls 11/18 - 10/19      Animal Emergency Calls 11/17 - 10/18

2018 Annual Animal Statistics      2019 Annual Animal Statistics   2020 Annual Animal Statistics

Our Open Admission Policy

Glynn County Animal Control is an “open admission” shelter. “Open Admission” means that we accept all stray dogs and cats that need shelter and care. We also accept dogs and cats surrendered to us by their legal owners. We do not turn away dogs or cats based on age, breed, health, behavior or any other characteristic. Glynn County Animal Control is the only "open admission" animal shelter in our community.

transportWhenever possible, we work with limited admission, restricted admission and breed- or species-specific rescue groups and shelters all over the country to try to send homeless pets from here to places where they may have a better chance of being adopted. These shelters and rescues notify us when they have open kennels and cages and we have dogs or cats available here who that group feels they can easily rehome. Volunteer drivers help us transport shelter pets who are accepted by other shelters and rescue groups to their new location. (photo: a group of dogs & cats leaves for a new life through a shelter in Florida). We post dogs who are eligible for transport on the Doobert website (www.doobert.com).

The overwhelming pet overpopulation problem in our community is tragic. It can only be solved if we all commit to responsible pet ownership together! Spay/Neuter/Microchip/Adopt!